Within Google\’s World …

Screenshots of Google Calendar on Opera Web Browser

Well since I had previously seen that Google were trying to get GCal working on non-Firefox or Internet Explorer browsers, such as Opera, Safari and Konqueror, I decided to do some experimenting with GCal on Opera 8.5 and believe me it did work at the start but then GCal broke and stopped working. Anyways, here are some of the screenshots, please click on them too see enlarged versions:

The above screen was the dialog that resulted from the code execution where GCal allowed one to see the compatible browsers on the overview page, but gave you the option of continuing to browse in case you weren't on firefox or internet explorer.

This screen below, is the starting point of the calendar, looked fine to me and the 'manage calendars' link did sorta' spill into the 'search public calendars' box, but it didn't bother me much, plus I could see my events on the grid, so I was happy:

A couple of issues I ran into was when I tried to add an event, I'd have the add dialog box popup from within the grid but in transparent fashion, I could add info in but could not really see what I was adding in. Once i saved an event however, i could see it on the grid or the agenda tab:

Unfortunately, major problems started popping up in the calendar's settings tab where I could not import any calendar because nothing was displaying on screen:

And then I guess it was the end of running GCal on Opera because after I successfully added a calendar, managed to hide it and make it visible again, I couldn't delete it. So there I was, adding calendars much to my heart's delight, but just unable to get rid of them:

Would be also nice to get rid of the the overflow of whitespace as seen in the screens but …. it does looks like GCal on Opera is off-limits for now…😦

April 18, 2006 - Posted by | Service & Product Launches

3 Comments »

  1. I had a similar experience. But have also found that GMail no longer works with Opera (9.0). I think its occurred at the same time I started using Google Calendar (beta).

    Symptoms: the initial Gmail display is fine but nothing is clickable😦

    My guess was that the addition of the link to Calendar on the front page of Gmail (top left) is “somehow” causing the problem.

    Angelo – can you confirm or deny a similar problem with Gmail and Opera in conjunction with Google Calendar?

    Note if possible could you respond by email (I found your blog by Googling: Google Calendar Opera) and am not sure I’ll be back.

    Comment by Alec Burgess | May 9, 2006

  2. The google calendar can be used with Opera 9, when you go to the website, simply click the “cancel” button when prompted, then click Tools > Quick Preferences > Edit site preferences > Network and change the Browser Identification to “mask as Internet Explorer” and presto, no more crap prompt.

    Comment by Kade | September 26, 2006

  3. Kade – your right – mask as IE and gmail and calendar work fine!

    Comment by tj | October 30, 2006


Leave a Reply

